Life is short, dont take it for granted

sadness-717432_1920

I was halfway through another blog post on the train this morning when I found out a good school friend had passed away. So this post will be about her instead and it will be brief, like her life very sadly.

I won’t go into detail as it’s not my place to discuss but it came as a complete and utter shock to me and as it must have been for her family. She was my age and had a wonderful husband & young son under two.

This morning while walking to the station I walked into someone opening their car door, it hurt and it shocked me and I felt stunned, weirdly I felt exactly the same when I heard this sad news.

But this isn’t about me.

We finished high school back in 1996, so it’s been 20 years since we all went our own ways. But thanks to Facebook we were able to keep in touch. I’d not seen her since 2008 at a school reunion. My memories are always a lot of laughter, I don’t think I took school as seriously as I should have. I always wanted to be funny and I think I got a lot of practice in at school.

We laughed a lot and that’s what I remember most, that laugh and smile. She got my humour and I got hers.We had so many nicknames for each other, all linked to our names.

I definitely take life for granted, I have the attitude that life’s for living and I live it to the full …but I don’t. I don’t because I always think tomorrow I’ll do that.

When Rob asks me have I called my Mum in Australia, I say “I will on the weekend”. I wait because I think the weekend is only a couple of days away.

What happens when tomorrow isn’t there anymore?

I’m really not sure what else to say, So I’ll leave it here.

Heaven you gained another angel today. I know she will enjoy her time in heaven, like she did on earth

Life is short and it’s really not fair but it’s real that’s for sure.

 

6 thoughts on “Life is short, dont take it for granted

  1. I have had several reminders over the last few years of how short and cruel life can be. Today being the third anniversary of the death, far too early, of a friend.

    Never put off to tomorrow calling someone to say how much they mean to you and that you love them

    Like

Leave a Reply

